West Cobb Election Guide

The months of campaigning, debating and advertising in local, state and national races comes down to one day—Tuesday, Nov. 6.

The early voting is over, absentee ballots should be turned in, and the final polls have been taken.

All that's left in determining the next president of the United States and a handful of state and local offices is Tuesday's general election.

In Cobb, the polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at all precincts. Voters must bring photo ID under state law to participate.

According to Cobb Elections, about a quarter of the county's nearly 400,000 registered voters cast ballots in early voting.

In addition to the presidential race involving Democratic incumbent Barack Obama, Republican challenger Mitt Romney and Libertarian candidate Gary Johnson, northern West Cobb voters will be deciding between Republican incumbent Phil Gingrey and Democrat Patrick Thompson for the 11th District U.S. House seat.

Those in southern West Cobb, including all in the city limits of Powder Springs, will pick from Democratic incumbent David Scott and Republican Shahid Malik for the 13th District U.S. House seat.

Two Georgia Public Service Commission seats are on the ballot, as is the controversial Charter School Amendment to the state Constitution.

Most all of the local races involving West Cobb candidates were determined in the primaries, or incumbents are running unopposed. Those names are included on the ballot, except winners of judicial races, which were non-partisan.

But there will be more than one option for two offices: Democratic incumbent Alison Bartlett and Republican Brad Wheeler for the West Cobb member on the Cobb Board of Education, and Republican incumbent Neil Warren and Democrat Gregory Gilstrap for Cobb's sheriff.

There are a few posts representing parts Cobb in the state House and Senate with multiple candidates, but none affecting West Cobb.

Republican Cobb commission Chairman Tim Lee was re-elected after winning an August runoff against former Chairman Bill Byrne. There is no Democratic candidate, although East Cobb resident Craig Harfoot, a Republican candidate for the job in 2010, is waging a write-in campaign.

District 2 commissioner Bob Ott, a Republican, was unopposed in the primaries and is the only one appearing on the ballot for the position. The sole candidate for District 4 commissioner is Lisa Cupid, who defeated incumbent Woody Thompson in the Democratic primaries.

See the attached PDFs for a sample ballot and a precinct-by-precinct breakdown of 2008 election turnout in Cobb.

If you are unsure of your precinct, check your voter registration card. Addresses for precincts are listed online.

Besides president, which race means the most to you and why? Tell us in the comments.

Don’t miss any of the local news you care about. Subscribe to West Cobb Patch’s free newsletterlike us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »