GHSA Finalizes New Classifications

The motion for the 2012-13 and 2013-14 school years was passed by the organization's State Executive Committee on a 47-1-1 vote.

It's official: and will remain region rivals.

The Georgia High School Association’s State Executive Committee approved on Tuesday , which includes the creation of the 6A class for the biggest high schools in Georgia. The vote was 47-1, with one pass.

Reclassification was based on this year’s enrollment of ninth- to 11th-graders for each of its member schools.

Also on Tuesday, the GHSA voted to have separate 1A championships for private and public schools, according to the Marietta Daily Journal.

The Hawks and Indians, now in 5A, are among the 63 schools out of the 65 originally proposed that will make up 6A for 2012-14. With the addition of Marietta High School, here's how the new Region 4-6A will look:

Subregion A

  • Campbell
  • Hillgrove
  • McEachern
  • Pebblebrook
  • South Cobb

Subregion B

  • Harrison
  • Kennesaw Mountain
  • Marietta
  • North Cobb

Meanwhile, will stay in the second-highest classification, going from 4A to 5A. Here's how Region 5-5A will look:

Subregion A

  • Allatoona
  • East Paulding
  • North Paulding
  • Rome
  • Woodland-Cartersville

Subregion B

  • Hiram
  • Lithia Springs
  • New Manchester
  • South Paulding
  • Villa Rica

The full reclassification chart is attached.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »