Harrison, Hillgrove Students National Merit Semifinalists

They are among 55 in Cobb that have the opportunity to compete nationwide for 8,300 scholarships.

Editor's Note: The following is from the CobbCast News Blog.

Fifty-five students from nine Cobb high schools are among the 16,000 semifinalists for the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Program.

These seniors now have an opportunity to compete for the 8,300 National Merit Scholarships that will be offered in spring 2013. Cobb’s National Merit Scholarship semifinalists are:

Grisham, Sarah
Morton, Joshua S.
Tamas, Rachel F.

Bell, Jordan N.
Hopper, Jackson D.
Mowery, Cullen L.

Maurer, Luke C.

Kennesaw Mountain
Hankal, Anna L.
Milam, Audrey

North Cobb
Arehart, Nicholas W.

Cohn, Brian M.
Gwaltney, Anna
Johnson, Bailey E.
Rowe, James C.
Smith, Ryan A.

Bao, Wendi
Brownlee, Bonnie G.
Lo, Krystal W.
Miller, Patrick R.
Portwood, Carter O.
Simmons, Zachary J.
Steine, Joanna

Chaudhuri, Suporna
Collins, Ralph L.
Enochs, Alisa A.
Fei, George Q.
Goldshlager, Gil S.
Granros, William C.
Greenwald, Hannah D.
Kim, Jay K.
Larkin, Brendan C.
Lax, Kristin N.
Leung, Jessica T
Lynch, Thomas
McQueeney, Michael D.
Mo, Hali L.
Mookerji, Shaunish
Niu, Catherine T.
Patel, Nisha B.
Pirani, Farha A.
Rao, Kiran B.
Song, Roger S.
Wang, Michael C.
Wu, Alexander
Yamin, Farishtay
Zambory, Jeffrey W.
Zhang, Joy Q.

Booker-Lauridso, Haley M.
Fletcher, Christopher
Guo, Jenny N.
Han, Kevin
Johnson, Andrew M.
Khorana, Tejas
Lide, Morgan M.
Luna, Josue R.
O’Connell, Madeline C.
Park, Eunmin
Peters, Alan W.
Reddy, Snehitha N.
Sareddy, Sneha
Shenoy, Pranav M.
Zhang, Lucy S.

The number of semifinalists named in each state is in proportion to its percentage of the national total of high school graduating seniors and is based on performance on the 2012 Preliminary SAT.

To become a finalist, the semifinalists and their high schools must submit a detailed scholarship application in which they provide information about the semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, and honors and awards received.

A semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay, and earn SAT scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test.

The non-profit National Merit Scholarship Corporation will announce the program finalists in spring 2013.

Don’t miss any of the local discussions you care about. Subscribe to West Cobb Patch’s free newsletterlike us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something